Granola

Standard

I thought I would take advantage of being at home (and therefore having parents to pay for silly things like shopping) and make granola. Granola, I can hear you say, that’s not very exciting is it? Well the fact of the matter is that a. I bloody love granola and b. nuts and dried fruit are expensive. So there *blows raspberry*.

I wouldn’t go so far as to say the quantities below are irrelevant but they are entirely adjustable to taste. This is just a combination of what I had available to me!

Ingredients

Dry
3 ½ cups oats
1 ½ cups raisins
1 cup mixed dried fruits (currants, sultanas, apricots, pineapple, raisins & cherries – though I removed these as I didn’t think they’d go)
½ cup flaked almonds
½ cup ground almonds
½ cup random chopped mixed nuts (I think)
¼ cup chopped walnuts
Half a dozen brazil nuts, chopped
¼ cup pumpkin seeds
2 tsp ground ginger
2 tsp ground cinnamon
pinch of salt

Wet
1 banana, chopped
2 big* spoons of golden syrup
3 medium* heaped spoons of crunchy peanut butter
1 teaspoon vanilla essence

*apparently in my house we don’t have normal-sized spoons. We have slightly-bigger-than (big) and slightly-smaller-than (medium) tablespoon spoons. I have included a comparison below to show their sizes (relative to what I think is probably a teaspoon, but could well be another in our long line of randomly sized spoons.

Big. Medium. Teaspoon. Possibly.

Preheat the oven to Gas Mark 3/160oC/325oF. Line some baking trays with baking paper (I used three trays).

Mix the dry ingredients in a large bowl. In a separate bowl add the wet ingredients. Really mash the banana until the whole thing is one consistency. Add the wet to the solid, or the solid to the wet (I’m pretty sure it doesn’t matter which way you do it). Mix thoroughly with a spoon, you don’t need to do this vigorously, but the longer you do it the more mixed it gets. Obviously. Spread the mixture quite thinly across your baking trays and whack in the oven. (If you prefer your granola more clumpy then press down with your palms.)

Every 10-12 minutes fetch the trays out the oven and give them a good shufty (shufty (n.): a jolly good shuffle, shimmy and shake) to ensure even browning. I also took this opportunity to swap them around in the oven, but you lucky people who have fan assisted ovens probably won’t need to do this. I left mine in for 40 minutes in total but this is entirely to taste – if you prefer your granola chewier – leave in for less time, crunchier – leave in for more. Simples.

Probably best to store in an airtight container and eat within a couple of weeks. I managed to transfer my granola to a suitable container by gently shaking it into the centre of the paper, then picking three corners and lifting it so the open end was higher than the closed end until I’d manoeuvred to a position where I could gently lower the open end into the container. Genius.

This made around 1.2kg which will do me and my parents for breakfast for the foreseeable future – hurray! Next time I do this I will definitely add one extra of all the wet ingredients (i.e. 1 extra banana, 1 extra medium spoon of peanut butter etc). I would also add an extra teaspoon of each of the spices too. Maybe you should and let me know how it goes?

J

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

